• Meet Some of Our Officers!

    Vice President, Mark W. Gura

    Mark W. Gura  is the Vice President of the Atheist Alliance of America and co-presenter of the Richard Dawkins Award, which was recently given to Dr. Lawrence Krauss at “Reason Rally 2016” in Washington, DC. Mark is also the media spokesperson for the United Coalition of Reason in Atlanta, the host of the “Blind Faith Vaccine” TV show, and the author of the book, Atheist Meditation Atheist Spirituality. Throughout his life, Gura has lived in and explored nearly 80 countries. He has more than 20 years’ experience in practicing mindfulness meditation/Vipassana. He is also the Executive Director of the nonprofit Association of Mindfulness Meditation and Secular Buddhism


    Secretary, Dustin Kemper

    Dustin is obsessed with the ocean and spends most of his free time on the beach. Dustin joined AAA a few years ago and has been a big asset and support to our group and Board. Dustin currently lives in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

    There is a mobile optimized version of this page, view AMP Version.

  • Dr. Lawrence Krauss: Winner of the 2016 Richard Dawkins Award

    Atheist Alliance of America and the Richard Dawkins Foundation of Science and Reason are pleased to announce Dr. Lawrence Krauss as the 2016 recipient of the Richard Dawkins Award.

    Lawrence Krauss

    Dr. Krauss was born in New York City, N.Y. but grew up in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. He received his undergraduate degrees in mathematics and physics with full class honors at Calelton University in Ottawa, Canada. He was awarded his PhD in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

    “Dr. Krauss is not only a great theoretical physicist but he is also a passionate advocate of atheism and reason known throughout the world. Because of his remarkable ability to make a very complicated subject not so daunting, he engages many audiences easily and makes them want to learn more about the subject of physics and the laws surrounding the formation of our universe,” says Melissa Pugh, President of Atheist Alliance of America. She also says Krauss “is a light of reason in a world darkened by the excess of religion.”

    The Richard Dawkins Award will be given this year by Mark W. Gura and Melissa Pugh to honor an outstanding atheist whose contributions raise public awareness of the nontheist life stance; who, through writings, media, the arts, film, and/or the stage, advocates increased scientific knowledge; who, through work or by example, teaches acceptance of the nontheist philosophy; and whose public postures mirrors the uncompromising nontheist life stance of Dr. Richard Dawkins. Previous recipients are James Randi, Ann Druyan, Penn and Teller, Julia Sweeney,  Daniel Dennett, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Bill Maher, Susan Jacoby, Christopher Hitchens, Eugenie Scott, Steven Pinker, Rebecca Goldstein and Jerry Coyne.

    More details on the Reason Rally are available at http://reasonrally.org .

    Click on the names below to read more about past Richard Dawkins Award Recipients:
    2003: James Randi
    2003: James Randi
    2004: Ann Druyan
    2005: Penn & Teller
    2006: Julia Sweeney
    2007: Daniel Dennett
    2008: Ayaan Hirsi Ali
    2009: Bill Maher[3]
    2010: Susan Jacoby[4]
    2011: Christopher Hitchens[5]
    2012: Eugenie Scott[6]
    2013: Steven Pinker[7]
    2014: Rebecca Goldstein[8]
    2015: Jerry Coyne
    2016: Lawrence Krauss

    RDawardTweet IMG_3168
    Melissa Pugh and Mark W. Gura Present the Richard Dawkins Award to Dr. Lawrence Krauss. Reason Rally 2016.

    Please join our mailing list and receive a free copy of Secular Nation magazine as well as our updates.

    There is a mobile optimized version of this page, view AMP Version.

  • Are YOU coming to the Reason Rally????


    Who’s coming to the Reason Rally in D.C. in June??? WE ARE!!!! Please join us at the largest meeting of secular people in the world on the National Mall on June 4th, 2016. We’re all joining together to celebrate, listen to some amazing speakers and meet many new friends. The Rally is free and if you need hotel accommodations or a ride with a local Rally Bus, please visit http://reasonrally.org. Visit us at our table in the Merchant’s Tent and peruse a variety of items including books written by our 2016 recipient of the Richard Dawkins Award, Dr. Lawrence Krauss and former pastor Steven Uhl! Sign up soon for the Rally Bus because seating is limited!!!


    Reason BusAll the information you need about the Rally Bus in your area!

    There is a mobile optimized version of this page, view AMP Version.