• Dr. Lawrence Krauss: Winner of the 2016 Richard Dawkins Award

    Atheist Alliance of America and the Richard Dawkins Foundation of Science and Reason are pleased to announce Dr. Lawrence Krauss as the 2016 recipient of the Richard Dawkins Award.

    Lawrence Krauss

    Dr. Krauss was born in New York City, N.Y. but grew up in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. He received his undergraduate degrees in mathematics and physics with full class honors at Calelton University in Ottawa, Canada. He was awarded his PhD in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

    “Dr. Krauss is not only a great theoretical physicist but he is also a passionate advocate of atheism and reason known throughout the world. Because of his remarkable ability to make a very complicated subject not so daunting, he engages many audiences easily and makes them want to learn more about the subject of physics and the laws surrounding the formation of our universe,” says Melissa Pugh, President of Atheist Alliance of America. She also says Krauss “is a light of reason in a world darkened by the excess of religion.”

    The Richard Dawkins Award will be given this year by Mark W. Gura and Melissa Pugh to honor an outstanding atheist whose contributions raise public awareness of the nontheist life stance; who, through writings, media, the arts, film, and/or the stage, advocates increased scientific knowledge; who, through work or by example, teaches acceptance of the nontheist philosophy; and whose public postures mirrors the uncompromising nontheist life stance of Dr. Richard Dawkins. Previous recipients are James Randi, Ann Druyan, Penn and Teller, Julia Sweeney,  Daniel Dennett, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Bill Maher, Susan Jacoby, Christopher Hitchens, Eugenie Scott, Steven Pinker, Rebecca Goldstein and Jerry Coyne.

    More details on the Reason Rally are available at http://reasonrally.org .

    Click on the names below to read more about past Richard Dawkins Award Recipients:
    2003: James Randi
    2003: James Randi
    2004: Ann Druyan
    2005: Penn & Teller
    2006: Julia Sweeney
    2007: Daniel Dennett
    2008: Ayaan Hirsi Ali
    2009: Bill Maher[3]
    2010: Susan Jacoby[4]
    2011: Christopher Hitchens[5]
    2012: Eugenie Scott[6]
    2013: Steven Pinker[7]
    2014: Rebecca Goldstein[8]
    2015: Jerry Coyne
    2016: Lawrence Krauss

    RDawardTweet IMG_3168
    Melissa Pugh and Mark W. Gura Present the Richard Dawkins Award to Dr. Lawrence Krauss. Reason Rally 2016.

    Please join our mailing list and receive a free copy of Secular Nation magazine as well as our updates.

    There is a mobile optimized version of this page, view AMP Version.

  • Fun at the Atheist Alliance of America meeting by Jerry Coyne

    I was in the suburbs a fair amount of time during the AAA convention, being a “handler” for Jeff Tayler and Inna Shevchenko, so I didn’t take a ton of pictures of the meeting itself. Fortunately, Mark Gura did, and posted a lot of them on his Facebook page’s AAA album). I’ll put his photos first, and mine toward the bottom.

    Our master of ceremonies for the two days was none other than our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, played by Harry Shaughnessy. He had some kind of mechanized skateboard and glided around like a divine being.

    Herb Silverman, who debated Dave Silverman in a “Silverman vs. Silverman Smackdown”, the topic being “Can you call yourself a Jewish atheist?” Herb said yes, Dave no. Although people seemed to think that Dave got the upper hand, I’m not going to stop calling myself a secular atheistic Jew.

    The strident atheist Jeff Tayler of The Atlantic (and author ofSunday Secular Sermons on Salon), and his colleague and friend Inna Shevchenko, head of the activist organization FEMEN (Jeff wrote about Inna and FEMEN in his book Topless Jihadis: Inside FEMEN: The World’s Most Provocative Atheist Group. They’ve both had fascinating lives and both gave great talks. Inna got a standing ovation at two of the three talks she gave in the area.

    Link: https://whyevolutionistrue.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/fun-at-the-atheist-alliance-of-america-meeting/

    There is a mobile optimized version of this page, view AMP Version.