The Richard Dawkins Award is given each year to honor an outstanding atheist whose contributions raise public awareness of the nontheist life stance; who, through writings, media, the arts, film, and/or the stage, advocates increased scientific knowledge; who, through work or by example, teaches acceptance of the nontheist philosophy; and whose public postures mirrors the uncompromising nontheist life stance of Dr. Richard Dawkins. Previous recipients are James Randi, Ann Druyan, Penn and Teller, Julia Sweeney,  Daniel Dennett, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Bill Maher, Susan Jacoby, Christopher Hitchens, Eugenie Scott, Steven Pinker and Rebecca Goldstein.

Atheist Alliance of America works to develop and provide educational, advocacy and community-building programs for the atheist community. To learn more about the 2015 national conference and to reserve accommodations, visit

Click on the names below to read more about past Richard Dawkins Award Recipients:

2003: James Randi
2004: Ann Druyan
2005: Penn & Teller
2006: Julia Sweeney
2007: Daniel Dennett
2008: Ayaan Hirsi Ali
2009: Bill Maher[3]
2010: Susan Jacoby[4]
2011: Christopher Hitchens[5]
2012: Eugenie Scott[6]
2013: Steven Pinker[7]
2014: Rebecca Goldstein[8]
2015: Jerry Coyne
2016: Lawrence Krauss

2016 Richard Dawkins Award

Melissa Pugh and Mark W. Gura presents
the Richard Dawkins Award to Dr. Lawrence
Krauss. Click here to read more.

Dr. Jerry Coyne Receives the Richard Dawkins Award 2015, Atlanta
Click here to Read more.

Please join our mailing list and receive a free copy of Secular Nation magazine as well as our updates.